jump to navigation

Brian’s Weigh In: Week 4 March 14, 2009

Posted by Brian Shields in No pain no gain, Stories, Weigh In, Weigh-ins.
trackback

3-14-09-weight-2891

This morning I clocked in at 289 pounds, a 3 pound loss for this week.

It feels good to be somewhat back on the saddle again. I didn’t exercise as much as I would have liked, nor have I eaten anywhere near as good as I wished. Then again, I am trying to find that happy medium between diet and past life called lifestyle change.

I am not the greatest of chefs and my cooking is sometimes horrible. Lately things have been going well. I still have a problem with preparedness. Bringing lunch with me is still not happing, resulting in my having to forage Georgetown for something healthy and edible in a short amount of time.

Breakfast, since it was starting to get warmer for a while, has reverted back to cereals and some mini frittatas that Taylor over at Mac N Cheese Review suggested. After this post I am going to nuke a couple up and tear them apart. They are very versitile, with the ability to change different veggies in the same basic recipe if you need a change. That, and I am happy I get to use my muffin pan more often.

I hate to say it, but happiness was probably the largest change this week. If you follow my blog, The Mourning Constitution, you may already know that I was diagnosed with a mild form of Social Anxiety Disorder. With only one visit, and some small therapudic tricks I learned that day, have helped me minimize my emotional binges due to stress by dealing with the stress.

This is very important. Some people are emotionally tied to food and use it as a comfort mechanism, many times leading to becoming overweight. Many of these same people fail at dieting because of this. It is vital that if you recognise a dependancy on food items when in times of high stress that you seek some sort of guidance. I wasn’t given any medication or any major breakthroughs in science to get me to realize what I was doing… it was just a conversation. My doctor opened me up, dissected me, and gave me a nugget of helpful wisdom in a single hour. I have used that advise to cope with unrealistic stress in my life, which resulted in binge eating.

That helped me lose weight today.

Honestly, it was an hour’s worth of my time. The worst that could have happened was that nothing could have been gained from it. Break even chances are no-brainers to make. If you need to, make the leap.

~~~~~~~~~~~

That being said, my plan for next week is to try a new exercise program. I really hate the gym. I feel like a gerbil. Too many mirrors. I hate being the fat, sweaty guy at the gym full of scrawny teenie boppers trying to show their ass to the guys lifting weights.

So, I talked with my boss at work, and I have put together a massive marketing campaign, consisting primarily of walking door to door, putting flyers on doorknobs week after week after week. It is aggressive too, the plan isn’s as sinple as 3 or 4 streets a week. We are talking whole developments and whole towns in one or two weeks. Five or six trailer parks in a week. We’re talking 10-15 hours of walking a week.

All while getting paid. Hot damn.

I have the green light to do it, and weather permitting, I’ll be litening to my Ipod walking short distances, up three steps, down three steps, short distance, steps, etc… for hours on end next week.

I have the green light for a month, as long as I don’t go into overtime. If we don’t see any results in a month, it’ll be scrapped. So I have a while to get hoofin’ and make it happen.

Hopefully it will result in a slimmer waistline, and less munchin time.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment