jump to navigation

Brian’s Weigh In – Week 5 March 21, 2009

Posted by Brian Shields in No pain no gain, Stories, Weigh In, Weigh-ins.
trackback

3-21-09-weight-288

This morning I weighed in at 288 pounds, with a one pound loss for the week.

Last night I was stressing, and if any of you are one of my Facebook friends, you have already noticed. I know I have not done what it takes to lose weight in a manageable fashion. I have slipped into old habits and laziness. I haven’t been to they gym in two weeks. I am snacking again, eating through stressful emotions. I am not preparing for work or class periods when I will be away from home, relying on foraging for quick bites while pressed for time.

I know I can do better, but at the time, I just lost all motivation. It skirted away from me. Only my obligation to this blog, and this cause has kept me from going straight back to my old ways.

So.. I did something about it. I obviously cannot do this on my own. I don’t know what I was thinking, because doing this on my own is what got me here in the first place. The Weight Watchers thing seems to work for Mike, and keeps him on track. I buckled down last night, and paid for an online membership for three months in the wee hours of the morning when I got home from work.

It’s not that bad actually. I entered my meal information for yesterday, which I thought was pretty damn good, and on track, and found out that I was close, but 4 points over for the day. It is also a great way to analyze what you eat, and how it affects your overall balance for the day.

Surprisingly, that huge ham club sandwich (with mustard) on multigrain bread that I had for lunch did more damage than that medium  slice of hawaiian pizza I snagged at work. If I tweaked the sandwich a bit, subtracted the bacon and cheese, I would be within my limits for the day.

.. or if I just exercised one little bit, I would have been fine.

So, the motivation level is higher than it was last night when I was freaking out, but not quite as high as I would like for it to be.

I have to be motivated by goals and obligations, apparently. Free range exercising is not working. So.. I need to find a way to motivate me into the gym before I am motivated in the gym. Something that will keep my interest, and make me reach a goal. The baby bonnett thing worked like a charm, and would have worked if it wasn’t for some unfortunate timing.

I have one idea that I have been brainstorming for a while.. riding my bike across the state. From the border in Laurel to the ocean in Lewes. Over 36 miles.

I think I can do it with some training.

Still thinking about it, let me know what you think.

Comments»

1. taylor - March 21, 2009

That’s great that you took the step to join WW. If you don’t exercise at all, just going out for a 45-60 minute walk everyday will do wonders. Going on walks is incredibly easy, and once you realize that you do have 60 minutes a day to devote to exercise you can think of other things to do in that time – like ride a bike, which is so much nicer now that it’s not winter.

2. Mike Matthews - March 21, 2009

Brian,

I am so addicted to the WW site. I honestly think it’s one of the best investments I’ve made. I’m on it constantly to log-in my food and exercise “points.” I’ve noticed such a drastic difference in my eating habits that I don’t know if I’ll ever give WW up — even if I should meet my goal.

The exercise has been so easy to fit into my schedule, but I’m hardly typical; being underemployed has helped me big time in my goal to shed these pounds. Let’s hope if I get this job I’m interviewing for on Monday that I’ll still be able to make it to the gym 4-5 times a week.

Keep on it, though. I’m here with you. I need to post some more recipes. I’ve been doing so much cooking lately, but haven’t had much time to post as many recipes as I’d like.

3. Mike Matthews - March 21, 2009

By the way, think of it like this: You’re down 11 pounds in 5 weeks! Ain’t no shame in that game!

4. Brian Shields - March 22, 2009

I like the points tracker and recipe builder. It makes it very easy to see what you are going to do before you do it.

I made an omlette the first morning with an egg, 4 egg whites, onion, some leftover ham, spinach, some cubed apple pieces, and a touch of shredded cheddar I had in the fridge… basically refrigerator velcro.

I saw a leftover breakfast sausage and decided to throw that in… it cost me 7 points! one damn sausage link!

The apple, onion, and ham mixed well together, I thought. Sauteed in the pan a bit before the egg was thrown in, the salt from the ham and sausage blended with the apple, and the sweet from the apple soaked into the onion.

I dunno, everyone looks at me weird when i cook because I’ll just throw stuff together and eat it if it works or not. I was just looking for a new way to get rid of the bag of gala apples in the crisper.

“Apples in an omlette? ewww.” *shrug* “You ain’t eatin’ it, sit down and eat your Cinnamon Toast Crunch and shaddup.”

5. Perry - March 24, 2009

Brian, you’re on the path!


Leave a comment